Good on paper

There was no resemblance to the dating pool I’d experienced as a single in my twenties. This was adult swim; 40+ men previously married with or without children.

I was looking for a gently used model with few dings on the outside and a solid interior.

Enter my husband. Our perspectives on life were in synch. The give and take was and is natural. Sensing all of this did not prepare me for the romantic proposal two months into it.

Cue Elvis Presley’s “I can’t help falling in love with you.”

Love can be blind but to his credit he didn’t hide a thing.

There were “ah ha” moments as we moved toward being married. The burdens and frustration from a previous life were going to be the backdrop for the foreseeable future.

The expression, “Welcome to the Titanic, there’s room for one more.” was tossed at me by a concerned relative. A SANE PERSON WOULD NOT GIVE UP A CAREER AND HOME FOR THIS.

On paper it was a mess. Up close and personal was bliss.

I made an odd decision for an analyst. I chucked the data and threw caution to the wind. I gave it all up for the love of a lifetime.

From the day we met I knew there would be no other man. He’s the one.Image

7 thoughts on “Good on paper

  1. Leah . . . .I just hope that there is hope for me . . . . some how . . .some way . . .of finding someone that will care enough about me to try and understand me! I am so not ready for the dating pool .. . but when I am ready, if ever . . . I hope that I can find the kind of love and friendship you and your husband have!!!!!! YOU GIVE ME HOPE!!!!!!

  2. (hauls in a comfy couch, hands out snacks, puts feet up on table)

    Welcome to the blogosphere . I do believe I’ll make myself comfortable and watch, thanks.

Leave a comment