You get what you need

I first heard the phrase “having one’s needs met” a couple of years ago. It came out of the mouth of a well meaning psychologist (aren’t they all?).

Disclaimer: My feelings about psychologists and those who choose psychology as a college major are well-known to my friends. Mama always said those who become psychologists and/or social workers are usually the ones who need the most help in these areas and a psychology major is someone looking for an easy degree. It’s not a real science. Whether or not this is true, I can’t say.

This does not carry over to psychiatrists who have the ability to prescribe medication. I respect that over endless navel gazing and introspection. It’s a concrete solution. Of course there are those who choose self-medication with drugs and alcohol because they don’t have a problem and have it all “under control.”

But I digress.

Back to having one’s needs met. We all know the basic needs are food, clothing, and shelter. What constitutes need beyond that? Isn’t a bit subjective? Let’s say in the case of a parent-child relationship. Who decides what those needs are? My son argues it’s another Star Wars figure. I think not.

Couples end marriages because one is unable to “meet the needs” of the other. Or my personal favorite “He or she doesn’t really love me.”

What a chutzpah.

I experienced acute culture shock when we moved to New Jersey. Our home was essentially my now husband’s bachelor pad after his divorce. Bare bones and undecorated.

I sulked. I complained. We talked about moving. And then I got over it.

Just like that.

In the long run it simply doesn’t matter. Your dream home can turn into the Amityville Horror if the person sharing your life is toxic. No house is big enough to escape.

When there’s shalom (peace) no hiding place is necessary.

The key to it is figuring out what’s a real need vs a want. There’s a huge difference.

4 thoughts on “You get what you need

  1. I think that sometimes “wants” become “needs” depending on what it is and one’s mental state. Sometimes, needs don’t only include basic necessities ..sometimes one has to embrace the “want” and let it become a “need.” –and that’s OK sometimes.

  2. It is a blurry line. Wants can easily become strong “yearnings” which can become needs. I think that it is easy to say, “I don’t need that it my life, I have everything that I could possibly want.” See? Need and want in the same sentence.
    Sometimes, it is easy to “rationalize” your needs by equating them with wants, even if it is, in your mind, “materialistic, ” (as you have this post tagged with the word “materialism”). Do you know what I mean?

Leave a comment